16 Weeks

We are just moving and grooving along with this pregnancy.  I recall each week during my pregnancy with Jack taking for-ev-er to move along and this one, before I know it is already into the next week!

I am still not feeling completely 100%, but I have my great moments.  Chris, Jack and the rest of my family are convinced that I am having a girl, which would be wonderful, but another boy would be too!  I don’t feel one way or another that it is a boy or a girl.  I can say that this pregnancy is much different than my previous pregnancy, but I expected that.

Jack is beginning to talk about the baby and give the baby kisses, which I love!  He told a woman tonight in Target that he now sleeps in a big boy bed (Yes!  Last week he started!) and that there is a baby in Mommy’s belly.  Although my belly is blossoming, it makes it feel even more real when Jack talks about the baby and being a big brother.

Aside from the pregnancy, this week will be my first time back to work since right before Christmas, so I am sure the next few weeks are going to be insane with work and things to be done.  My boss will be in the office next week, so I have much to prepare for that!

And keeping with New Year’s traditions, I made a few (minor) resolutions this year:

1. Be more patient

2. Stop using foul language (all of the time!)

3. Make a very conscious effort to cook more at home and serve my family healthy meals

That’s about it.  I’m starting a list of projects that I would like to complete during my maternity leave this coming summer as well, but I am not going to pressure myself into too much to keep the focus on my two little ones.

16 week belly

16 Week Questions:

How far along? 16 weeks, 1 day
Estimated size of you: This week, you are an avocado and my uterus is the size of a melon
Maternity clothes? Yes!  Tops, bottoms, tights, you name it.
Stretch marks? Nothing new
Sleep: Eh, the middle-of-the-night bathroom frequency is starting again.
Best moment this week: I felt you move a tiny bit!  It is only when I am completely still and really paying attention that I feel you move.
Miss Anything? High heels.  Now that my belly is protruding (and I am very clumsy), I am too nervous to wear them for fear of falling.
Movement: It just started!  I can feel you here and there, but Daddy can’t feel you move yet.
Food cravings: Cucumbers, watermelon and Coca Cola (caffeine free, of course)
Anything making you queasy or sick: Depends.  Sometimes, I think I am craving something, then I take a bite and feel sick.
Have you started to show yet: Yes, definitely showing!
Gender: We will find out on January 31.  The majority is saying girl.  I am undecided.
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out? In. We still have a ways before that happens
Wedding rings on or off? On.  I wore them my entire pregnancy last time and will again this time.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Still moody.  Small things set me off, which is very unlike my pregnancy with Jack.
Looking forward to: Feeling the baby move more, and for Chris to be able to feel the baby move from the outside.
Just for fun, here are some old wives tales to guess the sex of the baby:

It’s a boy if:

  • You didn’t experience morning sickness in early pregnancy.- Well, we all know this answer: Yes, I did!
  • Your baby’s heart rate is less than 140 beats per minute.- Typically about 163-165bpm at appointments and ultrasounds.
  • You are carrying the extra weight out front.- I lost about 19lbs, so I guess it is out front?
  • Your belly looks like a basketball.- Yes
  • Your areolas have darkened considerably.- Umm, not that I have noticed.
  • You are carrying low.- Still growing, but feeling like I am in the middle
  • You are craving salty or sour foods.- No.
  • You are craving protein — meats and cheese.– Hell no.  Both make me queasy.
  • Your feet are colder than they were before pregnancy.- No idea.
  • The hair on your legs has grown faster during pregnancy.- No clue.  Don’t shave as often in the winter.
  • Your hands are very dry.– Eh, sometimes, but I’m chalking it up to winter skin.
  • Your pillow faces north when you sleep.– My pillow is horizontal, not vertical.
  • Dad-to-be is gaining weight right along with you.– Yes, but he is chalking it up to the holidays.
  • Pregnancy has you looking better than ever.- According to the hubs, yes.
  • Your urine is bright yellow in color.- No.  Barely any color.
  • Your nose is spreading.- God, I hope not.
  • You hang your wedding ring over your belly and it moves in circles.- No, back and forth.
  • You are having headaches.- Yes!
  • You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived and the sum is an even number.- No, it is an odd number.

 

It’s a girl if:

  • You had morning sickness early in pregnancy.- Absolutely.
  • Your baby’s heart rate is at least 140 beats per minute.- Yes
  • You are carrying the weight in your hips and rear.- Again, not sure because of the weight loss.
  • Your left breast is larger than your right breast.– No idea.
  • Your hair develops red highlights.-My hair is red, so it is hard to say.
  • You are carrying high.– Middle-ish
  • Your belly looks like a watermelon.-Kinda?
  • You are craving sweets.- YES!
  • You are craving fruit.- Yes.
  • You crave orange juice.- Do I ever!
  • You don’t look quite as good as normal during pregnancy.– No idea.
  • You are moodier than usual during pregnancy.- Absolutely!
  • Your face breaks out more than usual.- Can you say connect the dots?
  • You refuse to eat the heel of a loaf of bread.- No.  Ate one tonight.
  • Your breasts have really blossomed!- They are always big.  What’s the difference?!
  • Your pillow faces south when you sleep.- Horizontal.
  • Your urine is a dull yellow color.– Yes.
  • You hang your wedding ring over your belly and it moves from side to side.- Yes.
  • You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived and the sum is an odd number.- Yes- 39.
So, what is your vote?  Girl?  Boy?  Any other tests/questions that I am missing?
2 thoughts on “16 Weeks

  1. i vote GIRL!!! I can’t wait to see what the ultrasound says! So cute that Jack is excited. I think the best thing is watching your babies love each other!! Even though sometimes they can be rough, watching the boys love on lily is the high light of my day!! By the way i LOVE that you are blogging again…I MISSED your updates!! 😉

  2. We will add you to the girl guesses! I’m glad to be blogging again too. I missed it, but am now trying to be more conscious of time to document these wonderful times with my little family. 😉

Leave a Reply

