It All Happened Over a Deadliest Catch Marathon

It was Good Friday 5 years ago today that I said “Yes!” to one of the most important decisions of my life.  Chris proposed to me in the middle of the living room in front of my mother and my sister.

He had asked for my Mom’s permission a few days beforehand, so she knew that he was trying to plan something special for popping the big question, but in typical Molly fashion, I folied all of his plans and it came down to me eating a pizza bagel in record time after my Mom tricked me into getting my nails done and Chris dropping to one knee on the hardwood floor.

And although it doesn’t sound like the most romantic proposal ever, it is exactly what this quirky couple needed to make it official.

The holiest of holy days mixed with a Deadliest Catch marathon, the best pizza bagel ever and me refusing to eat dinner at home and enjoy the evening with my family in front of a fire all culminated to that moment.

I remember thinking to myself, “What the hell is he doing on the floor” and then when I began coherently understanding what he was saying about loving me forever and that he wanted to grow old with me mixed with my Mom and sister crying as they watched, I too began bawling my eyes out but was able to yell out “YES!!”

And looking back, its not even a thought of he picked me, it is more of a thought that we chose each other.  And 5 years later, I am so glad that we did.

1 year and 1 month later, we made it official!

One thought on “It All Happened Over a Deadliest Catch Marathon

Leave a Reply

