38 Weeks- Hanging in There!

This was a whirlwind week to say the least.  I went to my weekly appointment, as I do every Wednesday, however the doctor was on vacation this week.  No big deal.

I had an ultrasound to see how big the baby was, and he is measuring a bit bigger at 7lbs, 3 oz.  They said that he seems to be very healthy and has a strong heartbeat.  Chris and Jack came to the ultrasound so they both got to see the little one moving around and making faces at us.  So cute!  His heart rate was 133bpm and is still head down and ready to go.

Things began to change following the ultrasound.  The nurse asked me the usual questions and I mentioned the decreased movement (just not as often as before, I feel) and she immediately whisked me away to have a non-stress test done.  During the test, I had a few contractions and everything seemed to be fine with the baby dealing with the contractions.  However, he really never moved, so the nurse held this buzzer thing to my belly to get the baby to start moving around.  That buzzer sure woke him up and got him moving a bit, but within a minute or so, he had calmed back down again and was falling asleep.  We tried everything to keep him active and moving, but he was just lazy.  The nurse said that everything seemed to be ok and that we shouldn’t be worried.

They unhooked me and brought me back to the room where another person came in and said that the doctor asked them to specifically not check me this week and that he would see everything when he came back the following week.

No worries and Chris and I made an appointment for the following Wednesday and were on our way.

Thursday morning, I get a call from the OBGYN office telling me that the doctor will be back and wants to see a few people right away and asked if I can come in first thing Monday morning.  I explained that I have an appointment on Wednesday and asked if it could wait?  She said no.  So, right now, I am very confused as to why he needs to see me right away or what he will say at the appointment tomorrow morning.  I tried asking the nurse what the urgency was, and she said that she “wasn’t sure of the method to his madness.”

Could it possibly be to schedule an induction?  Is there something wrong?  My mind is going a million miles a minute.

38 Week Questions:

How far along? 38 weeks
Estimated size of you: Small watermelon
Maternity clothes? More like tents…
Stretch marks? The one stretchmark from last week invited friends to join us this week
Sleep: Not fabulous.  Getting up multiple times a night to pee doesn’t help.
Best moment this week: Seeing him on the ultrasound with his big cheeks and cute little face!
Miss Anything? Being able to make plans and plan for things, but everything is just too up in the air right now.
Movement: Not as much, but still moving around in there.
Food cravings: Ice cream cake!
Anything making you queasy or sick: No.
Have you started to show yet: Still about ready to pop!
Gender: Boy!
Labor Signs: Definitely experiencing the symptoms, so we will see what happens.
Belly Button in or out? Out!
Wedding rings on or off? On.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Still very happy, but missing my Mom.
Looking forward to: My appointment with the OBGYN tomorrow and to see what the “method to his madness” really is.
Leave a Reply

