39 Weeks!

To be honest, I truly felt as if last week would have been my last weekly pregnancy posting, but alas, this little one is still cooking away!

I am looking forward to my appointment on Monday morning to see what my OBGYN has to say and if the time has come to develop a game plan for this week!  (Fingers crossed!)

This week has been even more difficult since we are down a car (Saab is back in the shop again), Jack has decided that now is the perfect time to begin his rebellion stage, my in-laws arrive on the 15th so Operation Prep-for-tons-of-visitors-Cleanathon has commenced, not to mention that I constantly feel as if I could fall asleep any minute.

Still working 40+ hours a week is absolutely brutal, and by the time I walk in the door at 6pm, I could practically fall over dead.  Chris has been a tremendous help with everything.  He has been the one cleaning up after dinner, giving Jack a bath and assisting me with tidying up the house at the end of the day.  Lucky doesn’t even come close to describing how I feel about him right now.

I am beginning to feel a bit guilty that Jack will probably be blindsided by this new little baby in the house, although we have been trying to prep him for several months.  He will tell people that he is going to be a big brother, but when it comes down to it, he doesn’t really understand that the baby is coming and once he is here, he is here to stay.  His whole life he has been an “only child” and has been the absolute center of our worlds, and now all of that will begin to change.  The past several weeks have been very focused on Jack and toddler friendly activities as our social life will not be as busy in the near future.  We are sure that Jack will love his brother, but we are preparing for a time of adjustment.

Additionally, Friday night, before I hit 39 weeks, we experienced 1 solid hour of contractions lasting 1 minute- 1.5 minutes that were 5 minutes apart.  Just as we were getting ready to call someone to come over and stay with Jack and head to the hospital, they slowed and eventually stopped.  Chris and I decided to hit the hay at that minute to ensure that if it started up again that we would get some sleep before a very long night.  Still no baby.  😦

39 Week Questions:

How far along? 39 weeks
Estimated size of you: Small watermelon
Maternity clothes? Anything that fits!
Stretch marks? Let’s not even discuss the new roadmap on my belly…
Sleep: Terrible.  Exhausted, trying to sleep, constantly waking up…just a mess.
Best moment this week: Having true timeable contractions- to the point that I thought it was time to go to the hospital!
Miss Anything? My energy level
Movement: His new “busy time” begins at 9:00pm and ends around 10:00pm
Food cravings: Not much.  My appetite has pretty much left the building.
Anything making you queasy or sick: No.
Have you started to show yet: This question gets on my nerves.
Gender: Boy!
Labor Signs: Still pretty consistent with multiple symptoms.  Just a waiting game now…
Belly Button in or out? Out!
Wedding rings on or off? On.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy but very tired.
Looking forward to: My appointment on Monday and to hopefully have a definitive date for this baby’s arrival.
Leave a Reply

