Summer Update

Max is almost a month old, and we have finally taken Jack swimming in a real pool, gone for walks with the kids until we thought that our legs would fall off, and just enjoyed time with the boys.

Jack swimming with Daddy

Chris and I agree that it feels like Max has been a part of this family since day one and we can barely remember what life was like before he came along.  I can’t say that our family feels complete and that we wouldn’t add at least one more child to our growing family because I absolutely would in a heartbeat.

Daddy and Max taking a little nap

Jack is still loving going to school a few days a week and being home with Max and I for a few days as well.  We are getting on a schedule with Max, which means that it is all going to change after I publish this post, but I’m sure it will all be fine.

As I see all of my Mom’s flowers blooming in the backyard, I am reminded that she is here with us and watching us always.  Jack still asks for her and uses a play phone to call her and talk to her.  When he asks for her, he now completes his sentence with “Mom is sleeping a special sleep in a special bed.  I miss Mom.”

Chris and I have officially settled on the land for where we will build our house and just signed the contracts last week for the plans on the house.  The construction loan process begins now and we should be living in this house in about 180 days or less.  6 months until we are in our own home again, and I am looking forward to it.  Decorating, budgeting, unpacking…it is going to feel so new again and I couldn’t be more excited!

Speaking of packing, I have been working on bits and pieces of cleaning out my Mom’s house since May.  It has been a long and sad process, but it absolutely needs to be done.  The time is coming where everyone needs to choose what they want, what goes in the trash, what will be donated and what will be sold in the estate sale.  My goal is to complete the full clean out before our house is done because once we are in our new house, I want to be able to focus my time and energy on that.  We are still not sure about when the house will officially go on the market, but I am hoping to list it sooner rather than later.

I’m already dreading going back to work and leaving Max at daycare.  It breaks my heart that I can’t be with him all of the time, but I know that we are making the best decision that we can to better our children.  They will both be well-rounded, independent adults someday with all of the tools and knowledge to be successful.  That is the greatest gift that I can give them.

My friend Pam made these great shirts for the boys and I was so excited to have them both wear their shirts today.  So adorable!  Check out her shop on Etsy by clicking here.

Brotherly love

Baby brother Max (4 weeks)

Big brother Jack- (2 years, 7 months)

 

 

 

One thought on “Summer Update

Leave a Reply

